Transforming Our World Through The Arts

Art Is Not Enough!

mental health

Art is not enough?

Yesterday I had an epiphany while I was in the midst of a mild breakdown. By mild breakdown, I mean I suddenly felt as if I had hit Rock Bottom (Again!).

The PROCESS of hitting rock bottom had been in place for some time, so I don’t know why I was so surprised when I finally realized I had gotten myself there. And how did I get myself there? My thoughts, plain and simple. But that is irrelevant right now; another topic to be addressed at another time. The point is, as I stood there wallowing in the fact that I had allowed myself to hit Rock Bottom, I realized something. Something very important indeed: I needed help.

I had sunk to that space where without someone throwing down a ladder, it was going to be VERY difficult to get myself back up. And that’s when those words hit me: Art is Not Enough.

Which led me to the realization that that is why I am here. It is part of my purpose in this life. I believe 100% in the Healing Power of the Arts because I have experienced it. But SOMETIMES dancing and creating and art journaling etc. etc. is not enough. That is why we have Art Therapists, Creative Therapists and Expressive Arts Professionals like myself. That is why we have Mentors and Energy Workers and Psychotherapists and  Spiritual Healers of many sorts.People who are there to hold us and guide us when we just can’t figure it out for ourselves, even when the answers are right in front of our faces.

Friends are lovely for support to, but just be aware that they may be as lost as you are, and may just project their stuff on to you when giving advice. A professional has learned to lend an empathic ear and guide you from a place of detachment (meaning they remove their own stuff from the situation), although most of us can at least relate.

So keep doing art, creating, dancing, and doing all of that wonderful stuff to keep yourself in a good frame of mind and to continue healing. But also be mindful of when you just might need that extra support to get you through until you can pick it back up on your own again. There is no shame in seeking help, and there are those of us out there who WANT to help.

Ask. Ask, Ask, Ask. You WILL find the right person or people to support you. You deserve it.

Love and Light,

Monarch Mariposa

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

