Transforming Our World Through The Arts

Release Your Inhibitions

Yesterday I was at a Health and Wellness fair, promoting Monarch Mentoring. Part of what I did was to invite people to come and put a ‘mark’ in my art journal. That was it-just a mark. Anything- a scribble, a line, whatever; it didn’t matter. Well, it was an eye-opener for me! I was SHOCKED at the number of people who shyly shook their head and said “Oh no…I can’t.” I could see a mix of desire to play and create in their eyes along with fear and judgment. Unfortunately, for many participants, fear and judgment won out yesterday.

I am certainly not judging those who did not participate, because I have said this to myself many many times. As a matter of fact, just recently I was kicking myself for turning down an opportunity to ‘play’ for fear of being judged.

Somewhere along the lines of childhood and adulthood (I suppose when we start to become aware of others’ feelings) we begin to make self-judgments…and then we lose our ability to play. Three years ago when I began attending ISIS Canada for my Expressive Arts Therapy course, I was reminded what it felt like to play. It almost brings me to tears thinking about how FREEING and LIBERATING play can be!!

Well, the universe works in mysterious ways. Today when I opened up my computer low and behold there was an article about “InterPlay”..groups of people who get together and PLAY! The idea originated in California by a non-profit company called Body Wisdom.

My free hug for you to day is a link to this article, and a reminder that you have THE RIGHT to be yourself, to love yourself, and to free yourself.

Love and Light,
MM

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

